Fire, Football & 3-0 (again)

Hiya

Emma had a near death experience yesterday! She had a day off and was cooking her lovely Dauphinoise potatoes that she does so well. They need a couple of hours cooking time so she went for a shower while they were on. Unfortunately, while she was in there, the sauce that they were cooking in bubbled over and coated the bottom of the oven which already has a few other dripped things on it, nothing major though. Anyway, she got annoyed with them and took them out just after I got home from work to put a bit of cheese on them, put in some chicken breasts and turned the oven up to 200. She then noticed that there was lots of smoke building in the oven so went to open it to investigate. Just before she did, she decided to get a tea towel to open the oven with in case the smoke was hot. Just as she stepped to the side, there was an almighty woosh as an orange fireball englufed the inside of the oven, springing the door open a few inches before it closed itself again. It looked very good but Emma was a bit scared and rightly so! I opened the oven (first closing the door that leads to the hall where our smoke alarm is) and the visibility in the room came down to about 6ft! Anyway, the potatoes were fine and very nice so we had those for tea in the end. Not looking forward to cleaning that oven if it falls to me to do it (which it probably will as I’ve got a day off on Saturday). My advice to you is that if you spill a large amount of stuff in your oven, be prepared for a light show. Get your video camera out if you’ve got one and wait, it’s worth watching!

England v Andorra tonight which has 2-0 at least written all over it despite our crapness. I only watched the highlights of the Israel game which was still too much to watch really but a draw or defeat against Andorra is unthinkable. I’m not sure if they’ve ever won an international match. Off over to Emma’s dad’s to watch it with a Chinese. Good stuff.

Darts Update:
Back to the Monday league at last! Another 3-0 defeat but, more importantly, a decent performance against one of the best players I’ve seen up here in Huddersfield. The player in question is one of my team-mates on the Super League team and with me being new back to the game and him being an established player on the local scene a 3-0 defeat isn’t anything to be ashamed of. I played quite well, at times, and with a bit of luck would’ve taken a leg from him but my flight completely blocked the double 8 and no amount of movement would’ve got me round it. I’d left myself 108 which is 3×18, 1×18, 2×18 to finish. Hit 4 first dart, 18 2nd dart and 3×18 3rd to leave 32. Just inside the 16 to leave 8’s. Just outside blocking the bed then couldn’t get to it. Did my best and hit 8 to leave 8 but he hit his double and that was 3-0, just as I was getting into it. Bugger! Looking forward to next Monday though.

Right, should get back to my very slow-moving day now.

Scott

Leave a Reply

